Dear you,

Warsan Shire wrote,

“My alone feels so good, I’ll only have you if you’re sweeter than my solitude.”

And though this is my work of writing, I must include her quote, because she wrote it so beautifully, so perfectly.

I’ve been alone most of my life. And I like it that way.

Solitude is indeed sweet.

The silence envelops me. It welcomes me with open arms, and I am content.

I thrive on it.

When I’m in the company of others, I prefer the quiet approach. I listen, observe. As if I’m merely on the outside looking in.

That is…until you.

Being with you has the same effect as looking up and seeing a shooting star the night sky.

Amazement. Beauty. Wonder. Excitement.

Only these two things can put such a true smile on my face and sparkle in my eye.

I still have no idea why it is that you chose me to be a part of your world.

Then again, I suppose you didn’t have a say in it any more than I had a say in you becoming a part of mine.

We’ve been over countless “what ifs” to figure out the probability of us ending up together.

The only explanation is that it was meant to be.

“I’ll only have you if you’re sweeter than my solitude.”

You’re far sweeter.

So, darling, won’t you stay a while?

